Barangay Profile

Villanueva was once part of the Municipality of Tagoloan. It was then separated and finally made its own name Villanueva composed of 9 barangays, namely: Poblacion, Looc, Imelda, San Martin, Dayawan, Balacanas, Tambobong, Kimaya and Katipunan.

Due to the rapid commercial and industrial development of the municipality, the influx of needed workers contributed much to the population growth in Barangay Poblacion. People came and settled, either temporarily or permanently in the areas of Sitio Silao, Mutya, Soligao and Baybay. It became a vibrant place. Due to the increasing population based on the census of population and housing by the national statistics office, Barangay Poblacion has a total count of six thousand eight hundred eleven (6,811) persons in one thousand five hundred eleven (1,511) household as of May 1, 2000.

With these developments, it became a necessity to split Poblacion into three political subdivisions to ensure the efficient delivery of basic services to its constituents. On July 28, 2003 by a majority vote of its Barangay Council headed by then Honorable Josefa J. Neri, resolution number 09-2003 was passed, requesting the members of the Sangguniang Panlalagiwan to divide Poblacion into three Barangay; namely Barangay Poblacion 1, consisting of Purok Silao, Tuburan, Alubijid and Baybay as the mother barangay; Barangay Poblacion 2 consisting of Purok Mutya and Soligao; Barangay Poblacion 3 consisting of Purok 1 to Purok 6 of Baybay. On August 20, 2003, the Sangguniang Bayan of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental, headed by Honorable Bienvenido M. Valcurza, Sr. passed Resolution Number 09-2003 endorsing the resolution of Barangay poblacion to the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Misamis Oriental which was headed by Honrable Miguel C. De Jesus. The endorsement was duly approved by Honorable Mayor Juliette T. Uy of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental.

On December 15, 2003, in the 44th Regular Session of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Misamis Oriental at the Session Hall, Annex Building, Provincial Capitol of Cagayan de Oro City, Provincial Ordinance Number 636-2003 ‘proposing the division of Barangay Poblacion of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental into three new Barangays’ was enacted. Pursuant to this ordinance, a plebiscite was conducted by the Commission on Election on April 22, 2006 ratifying the division of Barangay Poblacion by a majority vote its constituents as reflected on the certificate of canvass of votes and proclamation by the Plebiscite Board of Canvassers Number 42222001, duly signed by Election Officer Lolita C. Ugsod, Municipal Treasurer Representative Nelita S. Floresca and Vicente N. Chaves Memorial Central School Principal Estrella O. Salarda.

Villanueva now has eleven (11) barangays including Poblacion 2 and Poblacion 3. Barangay Poblacion 1 became the center of commerce and trade in the municipality where the basic infrastructures for social services such as municipal hall, the Catholic Church, the public market and the municipal park are located. From the Macajalar Bay in the west, Sitio Looc in the North and the hinterland parts it compasses the areas of Sitio Nangka and Kalingagan in the Easy.

Barangay Poblacion 1 is composed of 7 Puroks, Purok Alubijid, Tuburan 1-A, Tuburan 1-B, Silao 1-A, Silao 1-B and seaside. Poblacion 1 has a total land area of eighty eight (88) hectares, with 3,049 number of population, 1, 0704 number of families and 665 number of households (2015 Census).

Majority of the populace are engaged into micro entrepreneurs and social business. Some are construction and factory workers, while others are practicing professionals and overseas contract workers contributing to the country’s economic growth.